Assume I can deactivate Lite now I've bought Pro?

Home Forums Product Support Forums Ajax Search Pro for WordPress Support Assume I can deactivate Lite now I've bought Pro?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Ernest Marcinko Ernest Marcinko 5 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #11989
    cliffohbbs
    cliffohbbs
    Participant

    Hi,

    quick question and maybe one for your FAQ:

    I installed the Lite version of your plugin and have now upgraded to Pro. I assume I can deactivate/ remove the Lite version without losing any of my settings configured with the Lite version?

    Many thanks and kind regards,
    Cliff

    #11991
    Ernest Marcinko
    Ernest Marcinko
    Keymaster

    Hi Cliff,

    The lite version is a completely standalone plugin, it does not connect with the Pro version. Since the pro version supports multiple instances, the configuration is not transferable. You can continue using the lite version if you want to, or de-activate it and explore the features in the pro version.

    After deactivation the settings are not deleted, so if you want to go back to the lite version, you will still be able to do so.

    Best,
    Ernest Marcinko

    If you like my products, don't forget to rate them on codecanyon :)


    #11993
    cliffohbbs
    cliffohbbs
    Participant

    Hi Ernest,

    thanks for explaining. I did get a warning from the Pro version to deactivate the Lite version which I did but that has now disabled the Search box that was on my home page despite me re-activating the Lite version.

    Any ideas how I can get the Search box back on my Home page as this is central to the purpose of the site (which is why I went with your plugin in the first place)?

    Is there also not a way I can export all of the settings from the Lite version and Import them to Pro? I paid someone to setup Lite for me on the assumption that when I upgraded to Pro it was literally an upgrade and all the settings, etc. would be maintained as is the case for lots of other paid plugins I’ve bought.

    If I had known I was going to have this headache I would have gone for the paid version up front and got my web agency to configure that version rather than being left with the headache I have now and potentially another bill for them to sort it out 🙁

    Any thoughts/ suggestions welcomed as I’m in a hole now that I’m not sure how to get out of.

    Thanks,
    Cliff

    #11995
    Ernest Marcinko
    Ernest Marcinko
    Keymaster

    Hi Cliff,

    I can see the search bar on your home page, you might need to re-fresh your browser a few times to see the changes. Browsers tend to cache heavily any content available.

    If you have difficulties setting up plugins, I highly recommend using some kind of back-up solution and making site backups every time you make a change. This way you will make sure that even if something does not work out, you can revert back.
    Usually there is nothing wrong, but a couple of times I have myself experienced issues like: plugin installation timeouts, which then lead to incoplete file transfers, which may bring your site offline. It only takes a bit of bad luck, and it can happen.
    I myself back-up everything before updating any plugin or the core, because it takes hours to fix when something goes down.

    The reason why the pro version is a standalone from the lite version in this case is, that there are many versions for both lite and pro versions available. Making them all coop with one another, especially older pro versions with newer lite versions would be a huge overhead in the code. I know many developers do this for the sake of business, but my primary motivation is to keep the code as simple as possible, and not to to avoid any compatibility issues – to have a working solution, instead of workarounds and potential issues. At least this is what I experienced in the past couple of years working on these plugins day and night.
    My ultimate solution was to fully separate these two plugins, by creating a standalon lite version, without any limitations, which the users can enjoy without having to buy the pro version if they don’t need those extra features – and more importantly, they can go back to that any time they want to.

    If you need help with re-creating the same configuration with the pro version (and placing it where it is now), as you have with the lite version now, I will gladly assist you, all I need is a temporary back-end access and possibly temporary FTP access, but usually that is not neccessary. But if you don’t need any more features, you can keep using the lite version, as it is based on the same code as the pro one, you wouldn’t notice any change whatsoever.

    Best,
    Ernest Marcinko

    If you like my products, don't forget to rate them on codecanyon :)


    #12002
    cliffohbbs
    cliffohbbs
    Participant

    Many thanks Ernest.

    I’ve just set you up as a new user on my site so you should have an email now with your credentials.

    If you could reconfigure Pro the same way as Lite that would be great as I can then disable the Lite version.

    Please let me know when you’re done.

    Kind regards,
    Cliff

    #12025
    cliffohbbs
    cliffohbbs
    Participant

    Hi Ernest,

    just wondering if you’ve managed to do this yet?

    Many thanks and kind regards,
    Cliff

    #12035
    Ernest Marcinko
    Ernest Marcinko
    Keymaster

    Hi Cliff,

    Sorry for the late response, I was not available on the weekend.

    I just checked, and I think I was able to re-create the same layout as with the one you had before. I’ve replaced the search widget on the header with the pro version widget, and activated auto form replacement too. If you clear the site cache, you should see the pro version search bar now.

    Best,
    Ernest Marcinko

    If you like my products, don't forget to rate them on codecanyon :)


Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.